Home » petals » On the Argument of Sexiness & the Proposition for True Beauty

On the Argument of Sexiness & the Proposition for True Beauty

Just the other day we were talking about the issue of sexiness, and how to make things (yes, things, not people) “sexy”? For some reason, we all seem to be oh so preoccupied with answering that above mentioned question.

What is with sexiness anyway? Why does it seem to be the sole purpose of things/people to manifest  having “sexiness”? I just don’t get it.

If you ask me, I think that it’s an attribute that well, everyone has. Thinking about it, I’m a girl and so are other women who are female (obviously) and then there are men who are well, male. There are only two anyway and they’re supposed to be complementary so the other is supposed to find the other sexy (at least, that’s usually the case).

Other than it being a quality that everyone has, it’s a really personal attribute. For me to find it a compliment, I’d expect people from my most intimate circle and that means my immediate family and best friend(s) to point something “sexy.” Or else I’d find it embarrassing and even insulting. Of course, that’s just me.
Since nowadays, everyone has their own definition of sexy, I’d like to provide my own: sexy is  successfully showcasing  a uniquely feminine/masculine trait possessed by a female/male, respectfully.

I remember one time my mom bought me a pair of sandals on sale and after seeing me wear it she said: “Isn’t it sexy?” When I looked and thought about how the sandal could possibly make my feet look sexy, it was because of all the characteristics of the sandal that accentuated the slenderness of my feet – I don’t mean to talk about my feet being slender but I’m sure we’ve all had those moments when we felt so good about an article of clothing that made us feel… attractive.

On another note, I just find it so funny how we women find men sexiest when they’re smart and funny and not primarily because of their abs. It just goes to show that those are the qualities we’re (women) most drawn to upon first meeting a member of the opposite sex!

Anyway, going back to the question at hand, why is it the sole purpose of everything to make things look sexy?

People would say quite simply, that sexy, sells. So, does that mean that everyone buys it? Or at least, supposed to buy it? Well, my mom bought me a pair of sandals that accentuate my “feminine” feet. Then, we go for the guys who are smart and funny. Guys buy those large tubs of protein drinks to supplement their workout which essentially accentuate their masculinity etc. etc. etc.

It’s supposed to be good… unless portrayed in a distorted way such as how in every country, you have those “sexy” stars. It’s become really popular for those Disney kids to venture into more “mature” roles (again, the interest in the unknown — to be more accessible or even sell-able to more directors/producers and even a wider audience). You can even say that it’s no longer a scandal for them to veer away from their goody two shoes reputation.

What’s so wrong about being good? What’s so good about being bad?

It puts a really big smile on my face to come across articles that go by the headlines: Supermodel quits Modeling Lingerie for Husband. To me, they’re honest accounts of people who have dipped their souls in mud. People who  initially mistook the mud for a pool of priceless crystals until they finally realized that they’re in a marsh of sticky mud and they have to get out.

One of them is a Filipina who was featured in OMG! Yahoo Philippines a few weeks back. She left her “sexy” image for a good and simple life with her pastor husband. Instead of bearing the body and the brokenness of a soul, they both are active missionary workers.

These following quotes struck me as it is a courageous account:

“I had to say no to a lot of things that earned me a lot of money. Everything, fame, connections. And by saying no to those things, I really lost a lot. But I know na if I honor God, God will provide for me. Then, eventually because I kept on saying no, people started offering me other things. Sige, ‘Ayaw mo nang mag-sexy, gusto mo bang maghost?’ Tapos eventually host na ako,” she said. (Okay, you don’t want these sexy roles, do you want to be a host? Then eventually, I became a host.)

She consistently said no to what would support her sexy star image and she recognized she was saying no to fame, connections and so on. I think what she forgot to mention she was saying yes to herself. “Yes, I honor the sacredness of what God gave me and what I give to my husband.” – which just goes to show that you really have a choice where you want to specialize and what you want to do even in the entertainment business.

The problem is, these models/ stars don’t have to quit because they’re on their way to the altar. They can already start loving their husbands TODAY.

The following quote will further support and close the previous:

“If you let them decide kung ano ang image mo, then you will never have a say in your life,” Rica added

If you let them decide what your image should be, then you will never have a say in your life.

I think this is the MOST powerful quote from her interview. Although to me, the writing style portrayed the interview to be quite bland and uneventful, this quote on its own hits home run by giving stars and star-hopefuls the true nature of the entertainment business. They control your life,  in addition: the fame, heaps of money and connections control your life. Then she makes a reassuring statement by saying you have all the power to come up with the image you want to portray.

I say, why aim to be sexy when you can be truly beautiful?

I will leave this post with an adorable picture of yet another star, Emma Stone:

I cannot get over the little stint that her and Andrew Garfield pulled for the paparazzi for their charities. Such a sweet moment for them to remember who they’re helping out. How can you think of anyone while being bombarded by flashing lights and clicking buttons? They prove otherwise.

Leave a Reply

