Home » fashion » Ode to Silly Fashion Trends and Woah Legs

Ode to Silly Fashion Trends and Woah Legs

Fish tail

skirts

unusual

cut-outs

mega

micro mini

transparent

skirts

blouses

dresses

oh my!

These fashion trends make me want to just… *face palm.*

Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE FASHION SO MUCH. I love seeing new designs, new textures, new ways to mix and match my clothes, I love it. I eat it all up.

But there are just some pieces of clothing that apparently become hits and eventually become TRENDS. It’s alarming!

My desperate ode to fashion boils down to two points:

(1) Clothes that look WAY TOO SMALL FOR YOU and

(2) Clothes that don’t even allow people to focus on YOU.

Although department stores and generally most large scale clothing stores separate the women, teens and children sections, there are some pieces of clothing that seem to have been misplaced in the categorizing of things.

Take the short shorts. They look like a pair of shorts that’s supposed to be for  five year old’s blessed with extremely large waists. There’s the short shorts that are even high waisted that make the wearer look like she’s keeping a diaper in place from falling down.

A Father and his Short-Shorts

dad2

Thankfully there are still people out there who care. There’s a father who went above and beyond our creativity to make a point. On a regular day, when he just had it of his daughter repeatedly breaking the household modesty rules, that he cut a pair of his old jeans to mimic the short shorts. He topped the look off with a Best.Dad.Ever T-shirt. *Thumbs up!*

This super awesome dad got a ‘kudos!’ from fellow parents on this risque move. According to Shine Yahoo!, he was even coined as an Internet hero.

Here’s the real story behind the short-shorts and a wonderful excerpt:

I know the world has varying degrees of what is modest and what is not when it comes to clothing.  In our family we have pretty definite modesty guidelines; No midriffs or low-cut shirts, no short-shorts, short skirts and we even go as far as saying no sleeveless shirts unless playing sports or on the beach. Having raised four daughters and three sons, I’m a bit protective.

Some may call me old fashion, but I call it “A Dad who loves his daughters” (and sons too) I know some of you may be rolling your eyes and that’s okay, my daughter does it all the time.

I’m a firm believer that the way we dress sends messages about us, and it influences the way we and others act. (okay okay – I’m the first to admit I look like a redneck and I may say “crick” instead of “creek”) But that’s beside the point. My teenage daughter day after day continues to wear clothing that I, as her father, feel is inappropriate and immodest.

There is a lot to think about with regard to his lesson. The demonstration shows (1) this father’s love for his daughter, (2) the exposition of the worth of his daughter to the world, and (3) the mockery of the short-shorts.

It’s so obvious how much this father loves his daughter that he’s willing to look like a fool in front of the whole internet world for her. It’s also clear by the blog entry that he wrote that this move was to provide a lesson to his kids that there is some sense in keeping with the family values he wants his offspring to uphold.

The mockery of the short-shorts… does this message resound loud and clear or or not?

The Mockery of Short-Shorts: Woah Legs

I don’t know about you, but the first reaction I got from seeing this man in a “Best.Dad.Ever” Black T-shirt and… his shorts was a funny grin.

I didn’t think about it much. All I thought was –  he looked silly. Really silly. As if he was showing off his legs. Then, I just kept staring at his legs and I was all “Woah! Legs!”

If I were any other person, I would stop there and not think further.

But when I did think deeper into this picture.

I saw the kinds of (cold) stares this man got while he was walking to the department store or the local convenience store. I imagined the lines that could have been thrown at him like: “Did you leave your shorts at home, dude?” I imagined the reactions from every kind of person – young or old who saw him.

I thought… wow, that’s probably every other person’s reactions and thoughts about any other girl who steps out of her house wearing short shorts!

Girls wouldn’t even think we were being mocked at by what we wear. We would think that any form of attention is good. We just think that everyone loves us because we’re girls! I know that because I’m a girl. The insecurity we tend to have makes us a lot less sensitive to the kind of attention we get.

Living in a tropical country, girls have given the excuse that because it’s just so humid in this country, we can dress as if we were in the beach (yup, even when attending mass). You can already imagine the number of  Woah Legs! moments a day.

There are many more reasons to abhor short shorts and here are a few more from a Filipina blogger.

Apparently because this world is so desensitized by the kinds of fashions that are worn by women passersby, women and men alike shouldn’t care about fashion. Besides, it’s self-expression and everyone should be given the chance to wear whatever they like no matter how revealing and immodest their fashion sense is.

I beg not.

As I end this ode to silly fashion trends

I call women

to be open to

their intuition-centered sensitivity

to be honest

to themselves

to know what is offensive

to realize what is demeaning

and ask

am I really worth

bearing

myself?

Just for kicks, here’s another dad donning the short-shorts look:

dad1

short shorts: the new trend among dads!

Leave a Reply

