Home » Home » Confessions of a Shopaholic: Rehab

Confessions of a Shopaholic: Rehab

ce7ac451277f9dcfd7f424f4b75949dc

Now that it’s sale season, I am possessed by all the shops with markdown prices. Is there a woman magnet in there or something? I make up dumb excuses just to enter the same shop I’ve been entering everyday for 3 days in a row. My eyes have some sort of “shopping mode” so when it detects something cute and cheap – the information suddenly registers into my “shopping thoughts” until it consumes my day and all I think about is that pair of shoes until I’ve come up with absolute every excuse to buy it and then I’m convinced.

The next memory is me walking out of the shop, I am also breathing normally because I’ve finally freed myself from the torment of that item. Then I go back home with a brand new item to pair with all my existing clothes. I try them on. Dance in them and sing in them and feel like I’m new!

Sounds familiar? You can bet that when I watched the Confessions of a Shopaholic, I was able to relate with her immediately. It was the way that the mannequins gestured for her to buy and the sparkle in Rebecca Bloomwood’s (Isla Fisher) eyes when she got her hands on a deal. I wanted to be her friend so bad because I knew in days like these… she would be the only one to understand me.

Confessions_of_a_Shopaholic2

Admission into Shopaholic Rehab

I am a shopaholic. I knew I had a problem when all I could think about was that thing I pined for for weeks until I finally bought it. It never came to a point that I overused my credit cards to their limits. Never. But other signs showed that I needed this rehab: when I would give myself reasons to buy things when my closet doesn’t need anything new anyway, when I would buy something that I would end up never wearing because it didn’t match anything in my closet until one day it would break and when I would buy the wrong size just because it was the last piece (and it was just the cutest).

Awareness: the reason for these mishaps can be summarized in 3 (technically 4) words: whims, peer pressure and SALE.

1662d39ca20474a29697d6cbf1cfaceb

Shopaholic Rehab

There is a way out of this and it involves really thinking before purchasing anything and believing that you don’t need anything new.

In the days of my rehabilitation, I’ve come up with this:

Prudent Shopping Tips

Although I wanted to call this the “No Shopping Tips,” shopping can never be removed from our human actions until there are still businesses around. These tips are to help the shopaholic rub off the crazy voice in her mind and ease her into creating intelligent spending habits.

Guideline Questions when face-to-face with a super cute item

Note: The relevance of the questions differs from person to person.

  1. Is it a need or a want?
  2. Can you afford it with your current budget or will it delay any savings you are planning to make for future travel or investments?
  3. Is it worth the price tag? Do a quality check.
  4. Is it a versatile piece that you can wear with many other item in your closet?
  5. Do you think you will be using it repeatedly?
  6. Do you have something like that in your closet already?
  7. Does it look and feel better than the item you’re currently wearing or have in your closet?
  8. Think about donating.

Some Specifics

On Online Shopping: Always try on clothes before you buy them. Yes, buying online is a gamble. View items in physical stores first before taking the plunge.

17eadfa97ef55d421bb82ef8dc79b54e

On Outlets: Most outlets carry items that are so old. If the outlet itself is very dusty (that you notice yourself sneezing), chances are, anything you buy from there will be broken in an instant.

On Sales:

  • STOP ALLOWING SALES TO DECEIVE YOU.
  • NEVER HAUL.
  • Not buying on sale doesn’t mean you’ve lost everything – your closet didn’t have a major meltdown, it will stay wonderfully the same. It’s OK.
  • Only buy ONE THING of something (that you need and want) – no matter how ridiculously awesome the promo is.

On making new purchases:

  • Buying the same style or color that you know flatters you is not always the case.
  • If you’re buying to replace an old favorite – try buying on trend to challenge your current wardrobe.

 

 

One thought on “Confessions of a Shopaholic: Rehab

Leave a Reply

