Home » Home » How to Achieve Maternity Chic

How to Achieve Maternity Chic

Being pregnant, laziness and tiredness just took over my body and I just could not come to put that eyebrow pencil against my non-filled eyebrows. During the first trimester, I was always weary with morning sickness, so naturally, I didn’t go out. My husband even commented that he doesn’t encounter many women in the earlier stages of their pregnancy out and about anyway. Now that I’m on my second trimester, I’ve been feeling like a million bucks and I truly want to enjoy this stage of my pregnancy and life.

Since I am first and foremost a newlywed, I’ve read:

Keep looking your best after marriage, even as you have been doing before. When you look your best, you do your best.

‘After marriage’ can also be applied to ‘during pregnancy’! Although, every pregnancy for every woman is different. No matter how bad the circumstances and effects of the pregnancy is to a woman, her womb is a home to a growing child. As the mom’s belly grows, the more that she and everyone else realize how the baby is close to joining them in the world.

To know that my womb is the current residence of someone makes me believe that every motion that I make, every feeling I keep, every thought I have an affect on that someone. Besides the food that I intake, these feelings and motions are what sustain, furnish and surround this little one’s home and I have the obligation to make his home a bright, cheerful and peaceful one as best as I can.

I can’t think of a better way to do so than by starting with making the mother feel like she is the most beautiful woman in the world while her belly grows. Here are my top tips of How to Achieve Maternity Chic. 

Allow your clothes to love your belly bump 

Gone were the days of shabby maternity clothes. The trend is to buy clothes in your favorite stores but a couple of sizes larger to accommodate your lovely belly bump. Even before I got pregnant, I loved wearing loose clothing with unique styles so I don’t have to buy too many new blouses (yet).

This top is similar to what I have in my closet and I love how she styled it with tapered jeans and cute flats.

Loose top lovin’

I love these two easy-going looks that seem as if they didn’t have to look far from their pre-pregnancy closet to assemble them.

1ea174ae51d5f4f85dc2a1725c52f515

I have been on the hunt for the perfect jean vest because of how well it dresses the neutrals that every pregnant lady relies on for her everyday comfort. Let’s admit it, pregnant ladies are adorable when they dress their casual outfits so well.

427f53d62adc934a8db5356f19b5daa0

that jean vest!!!

Another way to achieve this is by being creative in how to cinch just above your baby bump. You can use your pre-pregnant belts over a long and loose top and tie them neatly above your bump.

Olivia Wilde

Olivia Wilde

Jessica Alba

Jessica Alba

Wear your chunky necklaces and bracelets before your baby starts gnawing at them 

Once you give birth and if you’re itching to accessorise (which I’m pretty sure I will be), there are chew-friendly necklaces/ teething necklaces (example: Chewbeads) in the market that are made of rubber but look like beads! If you don’t want beads to bother your baby while you carry them, you can start trying your hand at wearing colorful scarves or necklaces that are made of soft fabric and are washable.

il_570xN.476255417_c8r8 chewbeads1

Get Inspired by the Maternity Queens

Blake Lively, Kate Middleton and Miroslava Duma… need I say more? I am so glad more and more style stars are loving their maternity bodies by wearing beautiful clothes. When I would see their street style photos posted, I would be in awe by the way they embraced their belly bump as part of them. Be inspired by them. Even if you aren’t a fashionista who needs to impress the paparazzi all-day, be beautiful for yourself, your baby and the people who see you.

Blake Lively

Blake Lively

Kate Middleton

Kate Middleton

Miroslava Duma

Miroslava Duma

5f46fdb1ac7327e0c92ce8b6daf45332

Miroslava Duma

c31ccbf0d9cee0698e174e1dd6957926

Miroslava Duma

Goodbye High Heels (For Now)

Even if Kourtney and Kim Kardashian and the rest of the stars do wear high heels during pregnancy, I personally do not believe that wearing high heels is healthy for the pregnant lady. Pregnant ladies are so prone to imbalance since her center of gravity shifts while she gains weight. It’s better not to risk anything! Comfort and ease in walking are very important at this stage. So I suggest saying goodbye to high heels (for now).

Besides, I consider it a good challenge to look dressy in flats.

Note: Because comfort for the pregnant one is important, I believe it’s the same for the bag that you carry. It should never be too heavy that it could strain your back even more… so have that go-to clutch or go-to cute sling bag that can match everything.

038d14e796b7bb0ea2f2e5295c7eab3c 4472e07729b25c475d8a8dcca41ccbe8necklace

Embrace Colors Because (New) Life is Vivid with Color

Newborn babies are usually dressed in pastel and bright colors. Color keeps the mother-to-be absolutely glowing whether it’s a pop of red on the lips, a bright bag or your cobalt jacket.

pop of colorpop of color21d6e1f37804afce678e5f3871da9b31b

2 thoughts on “How to Achieve Maternity Chic

  1. Pingback: Practical Tips: Achieving Maternity Chic | Elegance & Candor

  2. Pingback: How to Achieve Maternity Chic - MomCenter Philippines

Leave a Reply

